Beaver on TV.

Just watching Springwatch and wondering how long it will be before I have trophy beaver :)

How are they measured?:confused:
Weight?
Length?
Diameter at various depths?!:eek:
Volume?!:eek:

I've seen a few perruque's, but that was more acceptable back in the 70's/80's!:lol:
They seem to be either completely cast or in velvet these days!:D
MS:)

I have some experience of the Mortimer Forest subspecies of long haired beaver, but they seem to have been to confined to Germany

One of 3 Beaver I shot in Sweden some years ago with wood-chips as chewed by them.
We hunted them three different ways, by canoe, by sitting up near a Beaver `lodge`and by stalking the streams and lake edges.

HWH.
[ Picture to follow.]

Beaver scull and chips.
[ .243 and .270 bullets for size comparison. ]

BUGGYCROWS046-1.jpg

One of 3 Beaver I shot in Sweden some years ago with wood-chips as chewed by them.
We hunted them three different ways, by canoe, by sitting up near a Beaver `lodge`and by stalking the streams and lake edges.

HWH.
[ Picture to follow.]
Back before i was married i use to hunt beaver right accross the UK and abroard and still have the mental scar's to prove it.They can be hard to track down and catch i hear that rippnol work's the best for getting you beaver:rolleyes: nowadays .They can sometimes be a bit smelly but they do taste good but since i got married i have not tried it that much:lol:.
I am told that a bald beaver is a sight to behold!! as well

Last edited:
The older ones don't taste so good as the youngsters do they Bob :D and the smell isn't the same either :D
I used to hunt them quite regularly when I was younger and single but now it's out of the question, I don't have the time and once you get married that sort of thing is only when there is a blue moon or is it copious quantities of Blue Nun :D

Intriguing creatures indeed!
We seem to have a few on here that have hunted them.
I'm curious as to 'shot reaction'.:rolleyes: