How to stalk?

Gouldie69

Hello to all,
Before you set upon me with the dogs, I'm a newbie!

Where I now live is not where I grew up so I don't know the land, the area, the people that well. I am only a vermin shooter (with rifle .177HMR) and always been more into guns with two barrells.

So, back in the day while out with the rifle or shotgun I have seen plenty of local wildlife in my homeland in the SW of England.
Now I am in the Ribble Valley, Forest of Bowland area in Lancashire (North West Engalnd). I want to start to learn the art of stalking proper. (I've joined this forum as one inroad).

My first question of many to come is this;
What is the best way for me to start to observe the local wildlife in its local environment?
I have only seen Roe Deer in my past yet I believe this area has Sika and maybe other. I do not know their habbits (I will be reading up on it as I write). What I guess I am getting at is, can I just pop out whenever I get an hour or two and walk the area with bino's? Is there an etiquete? I know there is the 'Right to roam' but I know this is controversial and I don't want this thread to become a debate about it. I just want some honest opinions on what I should do, how I should start? I have a couple of small permissions for rabbit but I feel I want to get into the forests. I don't want to get shot (accidentally), shouted at etc and then ruin my relationship with local land owners, syndicates etc but I don't know where the farms are, who owns them, who has rights etc.

I think you have the answers I need.

Thank you in advance.
Richard

I'll be honest
Book yourself some stalking trips with a recommended stalking guide
You will learn more in a couple of outings than you would imagine
That way it may also help you understand some of the replies you may get in greater detail
Wish you luck in your new adventure

I'll be honest

Stone,