Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Need to replace a lost knife: any experience of Puma?

Need to replace a lost knife: any experience of Puma?

Hello everyone.

Last time I went stalking, I found my CWD eventually, only to realise later on that I had lost my knife in the process. I had managed to hold on to that Buck Ranger for 23 years, and it ended its' career in a pile of gralloch in a Bedfordshire field. Ah well, it's the way it would have wanted to go. So I now find myself in the market for a fixed-blade stalking knife. I do have a couple that can serve in the interim, so I can take my time around the research. A quick initial scan of the Interweb has yielded the Puma Waidmann as a contender: Jagdmesser 113580 PUMA waidmann, 248.00 EUR

That said, I have no experience of Puma knives, I just know them by name. Can anyone vouch for them, or the opposite as the case may be?

I'm also going to look into custom knives, particularly in France, just to be different. I have a pretty clear idea of what I want, it's more a question of finding it at the right price. And I know that a pretty knife will work no better than a 10 one with an orange plastic handle, or indeed an Opinel No6, but you've seen my rifles and you know the sort of thing I like...

Thanks for your help!

Sorry, but I can't keep quiet. Why on earth would anyone spend 248 Euros on a knife?
    A Man should be wise, but never too wise. He who does not know his fate in advance is free of care

I'm not primarily interested in spending €284. It's just a starting point for discussion. Although a possible answer might be that if I'd spent that amount of money on a knife, I'd be careful not to leave it in a pile of guts. Every since I've had an expensive umbrella, I've avoided forgetting it on the Tube or on buses after all.