Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What would you have done?

What would you have done?

As I am new to stalking I just wondered what other members would have done in this situation.I was driving to my stalking ground at about 5.30am on Sunday when I noticed two Fallow in the field next to the road so naturally I stopped for a look (NO TRAFFIC AROUND THERE AT THAT TIME IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE)got out my binos to have a good look .Both fine looking bucks, then they moved totally unconcerned and I noticed one had a very bad limp on its left rear leg.I do not have permision to stalk on this ground but I know the farmer and I dont think he would mind me shooting something that had an injury(I have been taught not to let any animal suffer)I had another close look and could not see no open wound so thinking it had survived most of the winter and it was in good condition I LEFT IT hoping it would come onto my ground about 500yds away it didnt. So what should I HAVE DONE

Hi Chris,
    I would have done exactly what you have done mate. However I would go and see the farmer, explain what you saw and how you felt about it and ask him to allow you permission to shoot the deer on your next encounter. You may very well see the deer again, you may even get some more stalking land out of it!

Hi Chris
    You were right not to go getting it as this could have been classed as armed tresspass.

What i would have done is go straight round to the farm where you saw it and told them that you were concerned that there could have been an animal suffering and could you go and dispatch it.
    This would put you in a good position with the owner acknowlegding your concerns.

This farmer could have then said okay go and shoot it, which would have put you right in there to get the stalking or at least be thought about in the future.

That`s how you need to think in the future

Hi Chris