Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: first ever wright up

first ever wright up

hi everyone, I'm not much for this kind of thing I'm more of a pen and paper guy but i have just come back form 10 days black bear hunting in British Colombia canada and i have to say it was incredible.

now I've got lots of experience hunting in the uk i manage several estates for deer and vermin and have been full time gamekeeper for over 15 years so i know what to expect.

the guides where real outdoors men full of knowledge and experience, very friendly and helpful, they new where to find the bears how to identify them quickly and most of all how to keep you safe in bear country.

the scenery was as you can imagine spectacular snow covered mountains with lakes, rivers and streams with beaver dams and jumping trout, clear fell sites with moose and elk feeding grizzly bear on the high peaks. we had timber wolf howling in the wood all around us as it was getting dark and than will make your hairs stand on end!

i saw close to 25 bears while i was out hunting and i saw quite a few colour phase bears too, the average north american black bear is 4 an half to 5 an half foot nose to tail i don't think i even saw a bear that small while i was there the average bear shoot there was around 6ft but the one i shot was 7ft nose to tail and just under 10ft with his legs!!!!

in conclusion if your thinking of having a hunting holiday forget africa go to canada you will not be disappointed

thanks for reading donny
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_1489.jpg   IMG_1522.jpg   IMG_1526.jpg   IMG_1549.jpg   IMG_1558.jpg  

IMG_1506.jpg   IMG_1498.jpg   IMG_1600.jpg  

what a great experience, thanks for sharing your adventure
    Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit.
    Elbert Hubbard

Great bear you got there! Tell us more.

How did you hunt them? Walk the riverbanks, and spot, then stalk?