Thread: Stalking experience in and around Leicestershire

Stalking experience in and around Leicestershire

I am new to stalking and new to this site, I just want to be clear that I am not putting this post up to get stalking!, as I know it's not the right way to do it. What I am after is if anyone would like to pass on some knowledge and experience to a keen shooter.

A little info on me, I only started stalking this year, I do own my own rifles .270 on closed ticket, And rimfire rifles. I started off shooting shotguns doing pigeon pest control for a friend who owns a farm, He owns rifles and took me out rabbit shooting and got me hooked on rifles.

THe way I got into stalking is, I have friends who shoot deer and are syndicate members, After talking in the pub to them many times about it, I decided I wanted to have a go and booked a stalk with a guide to see what it was like. I went on my first stalk with the guide and unfortunately I didn't get a deer, We saw plenty but none were shootable.
    After my first outing I decided it was something I would like to get into, So I put in for my firearms licence and after much reading and discussions with my stalking friends I chose .270. (The reason I cannot go with my friends who stalk is there syndicate won't let people even go and watch and they have no private land to shoot)