Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Feeling a bit bemused - Guided stalk

Feeling a bit bemused - Guided stalk

I'm just after people thoughts on this as I have little experience to compare.

I'm new to stalking and have been out 4 times this year. The first three trips where in Scotland whilst visiting family on a couple of occasions and were very enjoyable, Unfortunately the forth outing, back in England turned out to be not so enjoyable!

As I want to build knowledge and experience and can't keep going up to Scotland, I thought the best way to go was to book some guided stalking with a 'professional' to continue learning. Like most things in life, you normally need lessons/coaching/mentoring to become proficient, safe etc etc and stalking is certainly very true of this in my opinion.

Anyway, to cut a long storey short, I was relieved 300 for an outing that lasted less than two hours. Yes, we were successful, but this was a cull animal (and a poor one at that) as I had already said I was not interested in trophy stalking on booking.

The break down of my invoice was - 130 outing fee
    120 success fee - not disclosed at the time for a cull animal
    50 fee for the use of a rifle and ammunition - not disclosed

All in all it has not done much to encourage me. If this is the normal going rate then I'll just take it on the chin and have to except I can't really afford to take up stalking as I certainly can't pay 300 every outing to build up experience. Maybe it was naive of me to not fully understand about 'hidden extras', but said stalker was aware I was a novice and I would have thought he might have made me aware?

If this is all totally normal then I apologise, but would just like to know.

Always best to be aware of the potential costs of a stalking outing up front!