Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Have I lost the plot !

Have I lost the plot !

Hi folks,

Have I lost the plot?

I've been stalking a particular Sika stag on and off for a couple of months. A right wily fellow. Been close to the animal at least 4 times but on each occasion I either had no safe backstop or he winded me or sensed me somehow. last I managed to gain the full advantage and after initially sighting him and getting a positive ID, I stalked him to around 40 mtrs ish which took around an hour. He was tucked in behind a fallen tree with 2 hinds laying up further back. I could only make out his legs whilst he was moving very slowly out of the cover, grazing as he went. The sky was very overcast, the wind was in my favour doing about 15 klicks. I put the sticks up ready and just waited patiently in case he presented.

1 min. went to 2, 2 went to 5 and 5 went to 10 until finally he cleared the cover enough to get a clear broadside.

Rifle was up and ready.......he was in the scope sweet and clear, breathing was relaxed, safety off...........just about to pull the trigger when the sun came out from behind a small gap in the clouds and lit him up. He was just a perfect felt suddenly very quiet, very serene almost, like a sort of religious feeling. I could hear the odd bird singing which I hadn't noticed before. Do you think I could pull that damned trigger..........could I hell as like.

I watched him for about 5 mins. and just couldn't bring myself to pull the trigger and execute the 'coup de grace'. I eventually slipped the safety back on, left him alone with his 2 hinds, dropped back into deeper cover and quietly made my way back to the truck.

It's now up to you lot to answer the question ?

Have I lost the plot ?

Last edited by rockingod; 23-04-2010 at 20:58.
    The pure and simple truth is rarely pure and never simple

In my view, no. My signature gives a clue to my attitude.
    KevinF -

plotto lostos