Re-using old blood track trails ---HELP

griffshrek

Hello All

I'm in the process of starting to train my 11 month old HWV on blood trails ( i'm only on my 3rd trail)
What I am doing at the moment is marking a trail with the bio-degradable tape for me as reference points at my eye level ,this is in a small block of trees approximately 1 acre , the trees are well spaced .No dog walkers deer or people venture to these blocks (might get the odd fox & sheep)

The strike site is created with blood & hair then a lay a trail using blood and the odd bit of hair to the goal,then I start the track 4 hrs later .

What I am wondering is can my trail be reused I wont be taking the dog there for another week , to save me putting out new reference points all I will do is lay a new blood trail then follow at the set time .

I'm not talking about using the same trail over and over but perhaps once or twice in a month then make a new trail .

Regards...Neil

I'm no expert, but have trained my own dog with fair success. It may seem like a bit of a chore but you will just create uncertainty for the dog and what you are expecting it to track.

What I have always tried to do is replicate a real life situation. I create a shot site, sometimes with a decent amount of blood other times just with a little or only with pins. I then make the track with slots and an odd drip of blood along the way (fairly numerous drops when dog young and green, gradually reducing as more experience /ability showing) to the side of the track. (same as if the deer had an exit wound with blood coming from that side. Places like ditches where the deer may jump I jump and have a little splat of blood. Basically I imitate the wounded deer. Now if you are coming to the track 4 hours after making it in real life (which you likely will when you have your dog) you want it to track that track, not one close by that a different deer left 4 days ago.