Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Master's degree + full time work... Panic!

Master's degree + full time work... Panic!

Has anyone on here done a Master's degree whilst working full time? How did you get on?

I start in about 3 weeks and am starting to get nervous! It's in the evening so it's going to be very tough I expect...

Ot oh, spaghetti O

yes. I did a second (law) degree part time and am finishing my MBA..all while working. Not gonna lie, it is challenging, such as the sacrifices you have to make with time. You also get out what you put it.

Good luck.

Thanks... Oh dear... It's cold feet time haha but I got chartered whilst working so I'm no stranger to it...

Did you find you were missing many lectures because of work or did you manage to make most of them?

Luckily I have support at work to help out too!

I did my additional studying with the OU, so all the content is on line, in material sent or the lectures are at weekends, you just have to put in the effort to do it. The masters is a combination of the above, plus week long residential schools.
    i have just started a fourth degree (or second masters) in regulatory science, which is delivered by the uni of Hertfordshire. With this, you pick your modules which have an intense 3 days then go and do the essays. Because I am self employed, I have made it work for me. I would expect that if a organisation is paying for you to do it, they must be supportive of the time it takes. I was sent on a management development program about 5 years ago, delivered through a university business school and was permitted to take time to go on lectures and to research a project.
    Last edited by Wills; 29-08-2015 at 09:07.

Ah interesting... We are doing slightly different things then.. My employer isn't paying for it yet, although I'm trying to convince them of course

It's a 15 ish month intensive for me... Twice a week in the evening at Uni and then the rest at home / work.