Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mazda BT50

Mazda BT50

Right guys, I'm in the market for a pick-up to replace my jimny as I need something with 5 seats for my impending second child. I've settled on a pick-up due to the space I require, a bit off off roading and importantly the ability to seperate the dog, dead deer and other messy bits from the cabin and the wife and kids.

I've seen a nice looking Mazda BT50 on an '08 plate near me that has only 40k on the clock, FSH and one owner. Apparently it was bought as a shooting wagon by a relatively well off guy but he rarely used it so has spent most of its time parked up outside (this was confirmed by the presence of an old birds nest between the bumper and radiator!). The bodywork is in very good condition with hardly a mark on it but a little rust bubble under the passenger door handle and a few spots of surface rust on some of the chasis parts.

Whilst I'm a fairly competent mechanic I do have a tendency to get a bit over excited when looking at new cars so I thought I'd ask on here if anyone has any experience of the Mazdas (pretty much a Ford Ranger underneath) and also anything important to look out for on a car that has covered so few miles over such a time. I've not been out for a test ride yet as wanted to go armed with a list of questions and things to look for so thought best to ask here first to add to the list I already have.

It is up for 9995 but has been on the forecort (garage selling it on behalf of the owner for a commission) for a while and so I'm pretty sure there is a fair bit of negotiating to be had. It's got almost new BF Goodrich AT tyres and a Truckman top and load liner. Interior looks in good nick and the rear seats look unused.

Cheers for any advice.

As you state they are mostly a ford ranger

which are pretty good / reliable