Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mixing corn with kibbled maize

Mixing corn with kibbled maize

We lost our part time keeper this season, which whilst a massive blow and meaning several of us are putting in a lot of time and effort, it has meant we are able to try new things without upsetting 'how it has always been done'.

The first tof these has been straw feed rides which are working very well - I am now keen to try mixing the usual corn with kibbled maize.

Does anyone do this and if so, top tips please.

1. Is it worth mixing corn and kibbled maize (I have heard 1:10 ratio) or have seperate feeders
    2. Does it come out of feed springs or will I need to use the tube and plate design? (Haven't got the maize yet so can't check)
    3. Is kibbled maize a good loose feed on barley straw rides?

Thanks for the help.

I have no experience of using kibbled maize for pheasants but we used to give it to your chickens and pigs for a while and if it gets damp it gets very sticky so I would think it will jam up a spring feeder.

And if the pheasants are anything like the chickens and pigs I would think they may throw all the other feed out to get to the maize.

But as I said I have no experience feeding it to pheasants.

"Amazing things can happen when preparation meet opportunity" Richard Schatz

"The will to win, compares little with the will to prepare to win" Donovan Moran

You'll find it very good at attracting deer & badgers who'll knock the feeders over to get at it. Can be useful to sprinkle in areas where you might want birds to be & to create a bit of interest for the birds.

I mix maize with my wheat mixed with some aniseed I have it in a auto feeder over a straw ride my pheasants spend ages scratching about for it meaning less time walking off.

Sometimes the pheasants will empty hoppers to get the maize leaving the wheat on the ground, but on the whole they certainly prefer maize but the cost is too prohibitive to use it as the main feed.