Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 30-06 Bullet Choice & Powder

30-06 Bullet Choice & Powder

I've just been granted a 30-06 and have a Sako 85 being rebarreled with a 1:10 twist 26" barrel. The rifle will mainly be used for the larger deer species and boar in the UK and abroad, but will no doubt be used on Roe/Muntjac on rare occasions.

I'm new to 30 cal and home load. I'm leaning towards using the 180gr Nosler BT. Is this a good choice of bullet?

I'm also undecided on what powder to try as most load data is for 24" or shorter barrels. Could anyone recommend a powder to start out with that is more suited to a 26" barrel?

On that note, Nosler list a charge weight with 105% case fill using RL-22 with a 180r bullet. I've never reloaded compressed loads. Presumably this amount of powder actually fit's in the case and just comes up the neck without spilling over and then seating the bullet crushes the powder down? If not, how do I go about getting a 105% case fill? Obviously I will work up any load I decide to try.

Thanks in advance.

Any 30-06 that won't shoot a 180 grain Nosler Partition with 56 grains of IMR 4350 just won't shoot anyway.
    But.... best work out your own load!
    Deer stalking and fly fishing opportunities in Devon

I prefer H4350, but any of the other 4350s are excellent for the 3006. My sako finnbear has had a steady diet of 56.5 grs h4350 and the 180 gr sierra gameking for the last 16 years ive owned it. Its been used on caribou, elk, a mule deer, and alot of deer, with no complaints. I use H4350 in my 243 also

Fifty Six of IMR 4350 and a 165 grain Hornady Interlock. Fl resized case, trimmed and crimped before loading the bullet to Hornady's suggested OAL: Never saw a 30-06 that didn't like this load.~Muir