Thread: Looking for stalking/mentoring opportunity for novice Kent/Sussex

Looking for stalking/mentoring opportunity for novice Kent/Sussex

I'm looking for an opportunity to start stalking. I have my own gun and deer on my licence. I've been honing my skills on the range for the past year and am confident of my shooting ability but want to move on to stalking. I have no experience and would need a mentor willing to pass on their knowledge and experience to someone who is keen,steady and very reliable. I am waiting for BASC to post 2016 DSC training dates but would like to get started sooner. I live in Tunbridge Wells, Kent.

I am sure you will find plenty " Professional Guides" near to you who will take you out.
    That is how I got into it and progressed to stalking alone and then joining a syndicate .
    I am afraid though money is involved as not much for free in this world .
    Good luck

Thanks for the post Hogey. I was advised to advertise for a mentor by a guy a I bought a rifle off in Hampshire. He was himself mentoring a novice as part of his own "instructor" qualification. I assumed there will be costs incurred but want to gain proper hands on tutoring that I'm not sure I'd get on a DSC1 course. however, if I am successful in this endeavour, I will still book a course when they're advertised in December (unless advised to the contrary).

I suppose anyone can be classed as a mentor who is willing to pass info on.

If i were you then find a good outfit that offers good stalking and stick with them. I'm sure the guide will be more than happy to teach you the way and get to hopefully grass some deer on the way. But remember stalking is not just about the shooting and dont expect to shoot deer every stalk. I sure most say 3-5 stalks for every deer etc. I for one have done just over 30 stalks with only 12 deer to my name etc.

Have fun