i have only been reloading my own for 18mths i am self taught and use a LEE setup and manual. i do also take reloading data off the HOGDONS site.

i dont use any ranges or really know many people who also reload , so i decided to use the endless knowledge and years of experience that SD hopoefully has to offer.

anyway a couple of weeks ago i went to a car boot sale and whilst rummerging through the old book section i came across a very damaged reloading manual by either SPEER or SIERRA.

i could not find a issue number or age of the manual but did find a date of either 1984 or 1994 the manual looked like it had been in a lot of water and the pages all stuck together etc . some of the pages for .243 (my caliber ) were intact and when looking at them the FPS and powder loads seemed far higher.

i didn't get the book but when i got home i looked up some of the loads i rembered from the manual and compared them to my modern manual.

on some powders the old manual quoted max loads of up to 4grs higher on some powders but usually 2-3grs more than thoes quoted in the modern book.

is the differances in the old and new manuals .
    1/ lower the chance of company being sued less chance of errors
    2/ saftey
    3/ powders have been developed so you use less to get same fps
    4/ old reloading manuals were right on the edge of the limits so no margin for error.
    5/ modern cases and rifles less robust cant take pressure.

im sorry i didn't get the old manual now to look into it further , this question has nagged me for the past few weeks. i hope somone can answer this question.....neil

old manuals

I think they give lower pressures to err on the side of cautions so they don't get sued. I use a speer manual and some data from sites. I am yet to see any pressure signs on loads i have worked up even on max. I don't go over the max published loads though.

there is also quite a lot of variance between various sources.