Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 270wsm.

Hi wondering if any1 has experience with wsm calibers and the 270 wsm.

much advantage over the regular 270?

looking at the browning BLR in 270 wsm.

all thoughts welcome

thanks, jj

Havent used it but it should do all a 270 win will and maybe a bit more. Might be a bit of a barrel burner though (probably not an issue for the average amateur stalker).

The that a lever action...seems like a slightly strange concept with a long range calibre in a lever action

thanks for the reply, my thinking was with the 270wsm i have good hill round, and a quick handling rifle in 1 which would be nice on boar. I have a 30-06 for big stuff in europe already but i would like something to be able to back up the 30-06 if it gets temperamental.
    I have never used a 270 or wsm caliber before so wonder if there are any problems with them.
    barrel burning shouldnt matter to much.

many thanks, jj

My friend has a howa 270wsm with a lothar barrel. I made a stock for
    him and bedded the rifle. He absolutely loves the rifle and caliber, shot reds
    on the hill out passt 300yds. At the 300m range the rifle behaved very well too.
    I don't think he wants to go back to 270win again.
    The wsm idea is not the worst, short action rifle up to 375 H&H performance with
    the 9.3 RSM.

The BLR locks up in the barrel as I recall with a multilug bolt head. The trigger is a strange affair and is some has a lot of creep and is a bugger to work on. Even browning don't want to try it. Several club members brought them in .223 and one made a mag conversion to take M16 mags. Due to the barrel/bolt lock up they tend to be fairly good accuracy wise but recoil, felt recoil might be an issue? One of the guys brought one back from a trip to Canada in .308 and recoil was noticable. Some sadi excessive and refused to shoot more than a couple of times.