Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Buying on a budget, thoughts please.

Buying on a budget, thoughts please.

Hi guys,

I have recently joined the forum and I'm relatively new to stalking. I've been lucky enough to shoot roe, reds and foxes with a variety of calibres with the kindness of good friends.

Having done a bit of research I've decided to go for .308 as my calibre of choice and I'm now faced with the dilemma of what to spend and whether to buy new or second hand. Gun budget of about 500 with the next big chunk going on decent scope. I've got the opportunity of going second hand with Browning European or a Steyr Mannlicher Model L or new with a budget manufacturer Howa, Wetherby etc.

Anyone have any thoughts on any of the above second hand models or on the new options, happy to hear opinions good and bad.

Cheers, Big G

I went new howa. It's as accurate as any other.
    They are marmite tho!

Handle a few within your budget, and buy whichever feels like it's "your" rifle when you pick it up, regardless of whether it's new or secondhand.
    If you like the rifle, and feel comfortable with it, you will enjoy using it, which means you'll spend more time shooting it and ultimately become a better shot.

I have a few rifles but needed a replacement for a 30-06 I sold, but only wanted something inexpensive so I purchased a Parker Hale 1200 for 200 including rings and bases, I tried it out on Saturday.
    It shoots 1" at 100 Yards and will probably shoot better than I can.
    And it looks better than the stainless synthetic Howa I sold.
    Rifles dont have to be expensive, I have a semi custom Weatherby Mk V and I cant shoot any better with that and it owes me 6 times as much.

Thanks danban, true you either love them or hate them it would appear. I've heard good things about them with most of the criticism being about the quality of the stocks. Is your rifle standard or have you made any modifications?