Thread: 243 for a complete novice

243 for a complete novice

Hello all i am brand new to reloading. just aquired some gear(still looking for bits). I am looking to load a 70 or 75 grn ballistic tipped round (mainly fox). my friend uses hogdgons varget powder aprox 36grn. i have also been advised on again the same weight heads (nosler)but with vit160 powder. oh and i will be using cci bench rest primers. Also how do i find out what depth i need to seat the bullet head. I would rather just end up with 1 type of powder as funds dont allow me to experiment.These i suppose will be the 1st few of many questions thanks in advance for any replies

Unless you are a very lucky chappie, you will spend a little more than you think on this one, all down to your rifle I'm afraid, seating depth can be determined only by shooting some & comparing results, just remember the minimum rec depth is = to one calibre measure, a good start would be to borrow or buy a chamber measuring kit, or if funds are really tight make up a dummy round & mark / paint the bullet all over with ink or engineer's blue & load the dummy, then withdraw & examine for witness marks in the ink.
    (The Unspeakable In Pursuit Of The Uneatable.) " If I can help, I will help!." Former S.A.C.S. member!

To do it cheaply you will have to sacrifice a cartridge case. Resize a case then with a junior hack saw cut two slits lengthwise in the neck down the to shouder junction. Make the slits oppositite one another and file the burrs off inside and outside. Then put a bullet in the case so it only just holds then carefully chamber the case in the rifle and then extract the case and measure the Overall length. The bullet will have been pushed back when chambered assuming it it long enough to actually hit the leade.