Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Africa might be calling...

Africa might be calling...

I have been stalking deer in the UK for 10 years now. I am lucky, get to visit Scotland a couple of time a year an have a nice little permission in Suffolk. The odd foray out with others around the country. I average about 30 deer a year.

A few trips abroad, Izard in the Pyrenees, Moose in Lapland a Boar in Italy over the years, but now I have a bit of a hankering to go a bit further afield - Africa.

Probably plains game only first trip. Possibly a management cull. Namibia looks favourite, but I wouldn't rule out SA, especially with the Rand as it is. Just want to get a feel for the sport and the place. An experience rather than a trophy hunting expedition, that's not really my thing. Springbuck, Impala, Blue Wildebeast, Kudu perhaps.

I don't want to go to a little fenced 10,000 acre farm, I want to experience the real Africa. The stalking needs to be challenging and on foot with a PH who has a sense of humour as well as being very experienced. I don't need 5 star accommodation, more than happy to camp. Any recommendations from those who have done it all before?

Not sure about calibre either. Doubt my 280AI will be up to it. A .338 is probably more than man enough, but should I go .375, just in case? What would people recommend?

Thanks for the help.
    So much to learn and so little time left

I'd think that your .280 and Barnes 120's would be perfectly adequate for kudu & wildebees etc. Definitely no need for bigger calibre.

The Eastern Cape and Karoo in SA are beautiful places.

If you like proper stalking put bushbuck at the top of your list.

Quote Originally Posted by takbok View Post
    I'd think that your .280 and Barnes 120's would be perfectly adequate for kudu & wildebees etc. Definitely no need for bigger calibre.

The Eastern Cape and Karoo in SA are beautiful places.