Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Deer experience needed for deer condition on rifle.

Deer experience needed for deer condition on rifle.

I have had my FAC application home check today. I wanted one of my rifle to be conditioned for deer stalking. Was told that I won't be able to have it done until I have been on several stalks and used the estate rifle to shoot the deer, recording when, where, type of deer felled and with whom I been with. The questions are: this is a normal practice?, how many would you say is acceptable, so I can say I have enough?
    was also told to get my D.SC. 1, which I intended to do anyway, but I was refused expandable ammo on my ticket. Is not this type of bullets required to take the test? Or will I be able to purchase them at the testing place? If you have not guessed I am completely new to deer stalking and therefore any information or help would be greatfuly accepted

Have you fulfilled the good reason clause for owning a deer legal rifle, ie have you got permission to shoot deer somewhere and do you have previous firearms experience?

I have been a member of a target shooting club for the last 16 months, but have been shooting on and off target for nearly 40 years, it just something I want to try before I get too old and cannot get around anymore as my health is slowly failing. As for land, no I don't have any, I was intending to use paid site ones or join a club

I take it you have a deer legal rifle you use for target shooting, book a stalk and apply to have dual use for the gun. Then you can get expanding ammo. Thats what I did, I have also done my DSC1,it stops any argument. Besides its a good way to learn and fun with it.

Which police morons demanded this?