Thread: advice for novice

advice for novice

hello all

a bit of advive needed as i am a novice to the stalking scene . i have two jack russell terriers that i use for everything from flushing birds to chasing rabbits and guarding the house. one of these i have found will track very well.

in the past when i have shot a deer i have used the lungs and some of the hide in an old sack and made a scent trail i have found one of my jack's will follow this trail for quite some distance even up to 2 hrs old.

i use a long rope to drag the sack to try and limit human scent and every now and then raise the sack off the ground and restart the scent trail and when he finds the trail sack of course a good reward and praise.

i will no be able to have a dedicated deer dog as i dont shoot enough deer just some pointers or tips to help . so far i have not taken the dog with me on any stalks (i would love to and he would love it as well )

any advice would be welcome.......neil

Hi Neil,
    I have two Jack Russells that I would like to take out on the deer. Unfortunately they get very excited with all the different scents and go absolutely loopy! If I could just get them to claim down they would be great. When I go out in my stalking clothes they know what I'm coming back with and are there to greet me on my return. They will sit watching the whole process from skinning to butchering totally enthralled by the deer.

I'd be very interested to hear how you get on with your Jack Russells training.

Good luck!

the main problem i can see with mine is i use them to hunt in general and both have a hatered of squrrels which they will hunt with passion which may pull them away from the scent trail

what i am going to start with is a long lead so the dog will have a sence of being under my control not just him working the scent. i am going to do this on sterail ground to begin with then introduce into ground that has genral game .