View Poll Results: Do you think 22lr ricochets are very dangerous indeed?

39. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I'm scared to use it due to ricochets.

10 25.64%
  • No, I don't think they pose that much of a risk

29 74.36%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .22lr ricochet, how dangerous?

Question .22lr ricochet, how dangerous?

Probably been done to death:

We all know that .22 subs love to ricochet and bounce and yet we all still seem to use them, it's the most used cartridge out there.

My question is though, how dangerous are these ricochets?
    Some people are scared stiff by the zinging sound (me included) but others seem to thing that any ricocheting bullet will be losing velocity very quickly in it's deformed shape and that's what causes the sound. Being a scientist I can see their point of view but they still give me the heeby jeebies!

What are everyones thoughts on how dangerous they are?
    Have any conclusive tests been done on them by somehow catching maybe with water and studying the deformed zingers? (yes that sounds stupid but anything is poss).

A very how long is a piece of string post but ground that you think is wet and soft still seems to be able to make them ping off. Just intrigued to hear everyones point of view.

The ones you hear whining off are badly deformed and take wildly changing trajectories, lose energy very fast, It is the one that scoots away off wet grass that is the one to worry about, no whine but you probably saw a speedboat like trail in the wet grass or crop! ...
    (The Unspeakable In Pursuit Of The Uneatable.) " If I can help, I will help!." Former S.A.C.S. member!

Quote Originally Posted by finnbear270 View Post
    The ones you hear whining off are badly deformed and take wildly changing trajectories, lose energy very fast, It is the one that scoots away off wet grass that is the one to worry about, no whine but you probably saw a speedboat like trail in the wet grass or crop! ...