Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My Sika Stag - Just rx'd from the Taxidermist

My Sika Stag - Just rx'd from the Taxidermist

Chuffed to Bits and after a long time in the freezer and after a number of months waiting, I've just received my Sika Head back from David Hollingworth.

A few pictures enclosed.

I kept the Stag for a mount as he was my first Sika Stag, he's got an abnormal roman noes (not too clear in the pictures) and some interesting antlers.

Just need to agree with the Mrs where he's going to proudly hang now.

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_1709.jpg   IMG_1707.jpg  

could there be a chance there is Red in its line?
    There is a place on this planet for all of God's creatures, right next to my tatties and gravy!!!

Hi Dan,

I'm no expert on the Sika but will check when I speak with the land owner next I'll double check and see what he thinks.

From Memory the two types of Sika (Manchuria and Formosa) were different in size. If I have it the right way around the Formosa is smaller then the Manchuria and the deer shown is off the smaller genetic line (Formaosa I think). For what it's worth I dont believe there is Red in this and the area it was shot has no cross breeding present i.e Red's with a look of Sika about them.

Hi robbo i don't think there is any wild Manchuria and Formosa sika only jap sika where abouts did you shoot it mate looks like it has a touch of red in it still a very nice head .

Hi Gadget,

Shot in Invernesshire..

Looking at him again.. you could all be right. Half breed or otherwise since doing the DSC1 course many years ago and then getting into Stalking I always wanted to shoot a Sika.

Delighted to have him home and on the wall at long last. Only problem is the Mrs has said no more!

She may be right!

Hi Robbo

Can you forward me the details of the chap as i have a Munty in the freezer that is barking to take his place in my conservatory. Well done on the sika mate.

You'd be barking mad not too then!