Case head marks - help

caorach

I have been noticing some radial marks, scratches, on the heads of my cases. I can't say for sure if these are happening in the reloading dies, or the priming tool or in the actual rifle when shooting and so need to do lots more research but I thought to ask here just in case anyone has seen this before. The rifle is a Blaser R93 so it is straight pull but even so I have a feeling that it might turn the case slightly on extraction, though not my enough to leave these marks I suspect. The background is that this is a 308 and I've been working up a load for about 2 - 3 years now, I'm in no rush and new to this so it is all an adventure. I suspect that the marks have appeared fairly recently but am confident I am seeing them on cases with very moderate loads as well as on cases with my "deer" load. All loads are within printed book max for what that is worth. Here are a few photos:

primers3.jpg

radialscratching.jpg

How about buying a box of factory "unmarked" ammo & firing them off. If no marks then you can at least eliminate the rifle as the cause.

I haven't noticed this with factory ammo, but then I don't shoot much factory ammo now that I reload.

I also haven't noticed any foreign bodies on the bolt face, or on my dies for that matter either.

It is a bit odd as the marks look, to me, like they have quite clearly been made by some hard foreign object which has cut into the case as either the case or the object are rotated. There is no sign of smearing of the lettering, for example, which would be a clear pressure sign and I'm not seeing any other pressure signs. I do have some new Lapua cases here which I could do testing with but I thought to ask just in case someone out there with more experience than I would step up with "I know what that is, you need to back off..."