Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Devon police...a friendly approach

Devon police...a friendly approach

So i have been driving for 35 years, stopped by the police on 3 occasions.

1) Early morning on the way to work in a works car, christmas time, drink driving spot checks, they apologised for pulling me in, stated they could tell i hadn't had a drink, but i asked to be breathalised, never done it before, and no surprise i blew zero.
    2) Going out deer stalking, mine and clients rifle in slips on back seat but openly visible, get flagged down, accident blocking road, very friendly woman officer, pokes head through window, see's we are in cammo, looks in back, and tells us to find another route and have a good time, no checks.
    3) This morning, 04.30 in Exeter city centre, i pick up chap from the hotel, he is American, we are about to drive off and i tell him to put his seat belt on, lucky for us, drive around next corner, 2 police cars bundling a woman in the back of a car, as i drive past i notice policeman run to his car, next corner he catches up with me blue lights flashing, i pull over, i get out dressed head to toe in cammo, 'what's the problem officer?', 'sorry to stop you, i noticed you only had side lights on' i put on main beam, he looks in car, see's gun on seat, 'have a good day' and waves good bye.

Only in Devon?

No complaints from me.

Deer stalking and fly fishing opportunities in Devon

I'm sure it goes with the turf Richard.

Devon & Cornwall with the highest number of FAC and SGC's for a single force in the UK, and despite that one of the most efficient FLDs as well!

Even the beat coppers can tell the difference between an AK and a sporting rifle - dunno about the bloke in camo though, maybe the copper really was distracted by the lack of headlights!
    Last edited by Orion; 20-07-2016 at 17:43.