Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: .22 lr alternitves

.22 lr alternitves

Hi all.

I have recently got a job of controlling rabbit numbers on sportsfields at a school. The lye of the land means ricochets are a no no and as we all know the .22 lr loves to bounce.
    So I'm after an alternative.
    The options are the .17 hmr. But discounted this as noise is an issue as being a boarding school making your presence known to the students isn't great.

Are lowered powered.22 rimfire cartridges a viable option. I've no experience of these.

I used my .177 air rifle with night vision scope to good effect but a little more range would be an advantage so is an fac air rifle a good compromise.

I await your wisdom.

Admin please feel free to move this to a different catagory if needed

Regards Pete

There is the wmr but no noticeable difference in "noise" to the hmr. The hmr can "bounce" too so if the desmond isnt safe then the hmr probably isnt either.
    Sounds like the air rifle (or ferrets if you have access to them) will be the way forward.
    You may have to recce the ground for warrens and lie up as close as you dare with the .177 air in prone with a bipod

Quote Originally Posted by Vipa View Post
    what about FAC air?
    Fac 22 would be my vote.
    I can speak in-depth and with great knowledge about most subjects until some bugger who actually knows what he is speaking about opens his gob .

I had a few rabbits at about 35 yards to 40 yards but I feel this is really pushing it with night vision and off of sticks. I have considered an fac air rifle but wouldn't know where to start. Which calibre. What foot pounds
    what make. Quite fancy a theoben.
    Would a fac air rifle give me that much more range. It would be great to sit in the centre circle of the football pitch and shoot to all four corners

22 Hornet or a .222 with a cast flat nose boolit. Sent at around 1000fps.