Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What leaves these little red berry's?

What leaves these little red berry's?

Hi all,
    I'm new to stalking so this may seem like a stupid question. As I'm getting to know my new permissions I'm following deer tracks and working out there paths in and out of plantations when I find what looks like regurgitated red berry's from nearby trees.
    As there is a lot of wildlife in the are I'm wondering if any of these may have picked them up and got sick or is this something deer do that I was not aware of.
    This is a pick of how I find them I the middle of a run

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Pinemartins seem to eat a lot of them. Many birds feed on them to

So from your photo they look like rowan, if so deer sheep horses etc eat them before frosts, they cause reflux and the animal often regurgitates them, hope that helps.
    As an after thought, 25-06 states- pine martens eat them, well like rhubarb, rowan and whitebeam berries are often eaten by pregnant Mustelid group of mammals.

Except that ruminants and horses don't vomit (some exception , but not rowan) I'm inclined to think its young foxes, as I saw some in droppings that also had a lot of beetle cases. I guess rowan is not that digestible to a carnivore.

There is plenty of foxes and badgers around this area. but with berries also gone from the lower branches I was thinking deer as no cattle are there at the min. Thanks for the info guys.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks for raising this question gigidy, I saw exactly the same small piles of berries, albeit with the slime washed off by rain, on a forestry track used by deer in Argyll a few weeks back and was wondering exactly the same thing myself.

Quote Originally Posted by Buchan View Post