FAC Interview

LW_Norfolk

Hey there guys, I've got my FAC interview next week, I am going to be asking for my ticket to be open, for everything up to my and including my .243. I've been shooting for quite a few years both military rifle, target and shotgun. Have you chaps got any suggestions for me.

Do you think that will work for me ? I have a Rimfire at the moment ( CZ 17 MHR ). I should be haveing a vist soon for my Centre Fire ticket off the FEO, put down for Deer Stalking and Fox......

Steve................

Had my ticket open from the start for .22 and .243, at the inerview I was well prepared with a sort of resumee (spelling?) of all my previous experience going way back so I was able to run through that with the guy, particularly if you have been stalking accompanied recently.I had a diary which had all the trips I had taken out with my friend/mentor which included a write up of stalk,shot taken,species etc, he barely looked at it but the fact I had taken the trouble was proof enough for him and I gues showed that extra bit of responsabilty.
What also helped was having written permission from more than just the one farmer required for the FAC, a couple of the other places were out of county and not cleared for centrefir but on discussion with the guy and showing him all the places on a map he decided it would be fine as it would be so much trouble to get each bit cleared for each rifle.
My 10 year old son knew how important the visit was and made us a both cup of tea, he's never made another one before or since! So perhaps having well trained kids helps.
The main factor though I'm afraid is what your county is like, it's a bit of a lottery, I'm 1 mile inside Wiltshire , if I'd been in Hampshire no way.
Hope this helps , let us know how you get on.