Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Barrel length!

Barrel length!

Another barrel length question..

After seeing RPA rifles at the CLA a few weeks ago, especially the woodland stalker with a 16'' heavy barrel, i was wondering what the down sides to this are? The man was saying that it was good out to 500yds.. In terms of accuracy i assume he means, but is he on about acceptable accuracy from a match rifle or from a stalking rifle? I would be rarely shooting out to 500yds and at crows etc if i was.

If i were to chop the barrel on my rifle down to say 16", what noticable difference would it make if i chopped it down to 16'' from 26''? i have heard that velocity can be lost, but no other problems? Also, i have heard that with a short, heavy barrel, it is more difficult to find the sweet spot due to the resonance being over a shorter period? Im asking this as i have no experience of it and wondered whether i was being taken for a ride? It sounds sensible, what he said that a longer, thinner barrel is a lot easier to find a sweet spot?

Im going to keep my R700 PSS barrel but have it shortened, to reduce weight and make it easier to handle.. im wondering how much to chop off!!

Account Suspended
    Bonnie Scotland
    Quote Originally Posted by flyingfisherman View Post
    Another barrel length question..

Im going to keep my R700 PSS barrel but have it shortened, to reduce weight and make it easier to handle.. im wondering how much to chop off!!
    Doubtless, an expert will provide a fuller answer but in essence, the ammount of hassle you might encounter varies with; the calibre you're talking about, the bullet you wish to propel and the powder you might choose to propel it. The problems in no particular order, can be, increased blast/noise/recoil and depending on the condition of your barrel, either a small gain or total loss of accuracy coupled with an allmost certain reduction in muzzle velocity/energy.