Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Federal Classic (Power Shock) 130g

Federal Classic (Power Shock) 130g

I am relatively new to stalking and have been using Federal Classic (Power Shock) 130g with my Tikka T3 .270.

Whilst at a rifle range, an experienced instructor made the following comment to me: "Don't know why you're using that ammo, it's $hit! - I wouldn't have it if it was given to me".

I understand the chap is a self-loader and no doubt considers his "home brew" to be far superior, however, is there any merit in his obvious distaste with this classic American beauty?

Yorkshire Wharfe

P.S. Needless to say he was happy to take my empty shells!

Established Poster
    North Lanarkshire, the land that Summer forgot.
    When I first brought my T3 (6.5x55) all I could buy was Federal Power Shock in 140gr. I could shot 3 or 4 in a good group then get a flyer, this was consistent I thought it was me until I tried several different home loads and then got good 5 shot groupings.

Looking at the Federal rounds, they are all different lengths, some of the heads were slightly angled, others straight, I assume that is just down to factory machines mass loading. However if they suit your rifle why change?

N Oxfordshire and Edinburgh
    Stick with them, i am going back to them for roe. If you can group them to about an inch at 100 that's enough. Too many people obsess about tiny groups on ranges....

Don't like the Federals at all. Horrendous muzzle blast, recoil is noticeable also.

Funny, the round nose 150's weren't so bad when I last tried them.

Just because you are paranoid, doesn't mean they aren't out to get you......