Ref: .223 Reloading

androyd123

Hi Everyone,

I am planning on reloading some .223 ammo for the first time. I have bought some LEE dies and my mate is gonna lend me his single arm press.

I have some Norma brass which have been shot once and I wish to start by reloading these. I have never done this before but understand it can be a bit of a mine field by the variety of lots of different bullet heads, primers and powder.

I basically am not looking to get the "world's finest bullet", however I would like a good all round bullet that will take down a fox with ease at range.

A few things maybe to help you guys help me are:

• Rifle - Blaser R93 Luxus
• Ammunition I used - Norma 2.6 gram Vmax Hornady/ 40 Grain Vmax Hornady

So Please if someone could help with regards how much powder, bullet heads etc to make a decent bullet the advice and help would be much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Androyd123

Last edited:
The first and most important thing you need to buy is a reloading manual. Speer is a good one, as is the Sierra one. Both have detailed and well written "how to" sections.
No one can categorically say "X grains of powder under Y bullet will give you good results". Even if they are using the same rifle and ammo components as you are, it's likely their results will differ to yours.

Well welcome to the dark art. I started off with .223 and you will suprised with your efforts.

Suggest you buy, beg, borrow or steal "The ABC of Reloading", read and then re read.

Sportsman at Exeter should stock it.

You would well advised to also get hold of " The complete Reloading Manual for the .223 Remington" Norman Clark stock this.

Vit or Lee reloading data will be helpfull. Huge sources on internet just google reloading .223 remington and then spend hours reading.

Get your mate to show you the works. V maxs or Sierra balistics tips are excellent fox bullets just a case of finding
which ones suit your rifle. In most cases load at about 10 thou off lands and should be fine.