Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .270 Tales (tall and otherwise)

.270 Tales (tall and otherwise)

As I said in my intro, I'm interested in getting a 6.5x55 as and when the FAC comes through (will be getting DSC1 first), but it seems some feel it's a bit light and offers little over the .243 Win.

Now I've had a lot of experience with the .243 in South Africa, and I have a pretty good idea of what it will and won't do on game. I also used to have a 7x64 for the bigger stuff- never felt undergunned on Eland or Zebra with it.

Is there any point in considering the .270 for (mainly) woodland stalking? I am concerned over meat damage, but would a 150gn bullet mitigate that? I do like the idea of the .270- it's close enough to the 7x64 that I know what I'm dealing with- and besides, I've been reading a lot of Jack O' Connor lately

Plan B could be to get a 6.5 and put in for a variation for 7X64 as and when the need (or desire) arises.

I will be handloading, just to make things more interesting...

I've shot the .270 and the 6.5x55 but cannot comment in too much depth. In my opinion the 6.5x55 (.264) has a substantially bigger knock-down effect than the .243, and the .270 is slightly bigger than that, so should be a marginally bigger hitter.

I've had little meat damage with the 6.5x55 Swede, exit wounds around 1.5" in diameter for roe using Norma Vulcan and Fed Powershock SP 150g. Also works great for Reds, whereas the last red stag I took with my .243 needed a second round, even though perfect bullet placement with the first from 75 yards.

Between the two, in my opinion, maybe look at access to brass and bullets, as well as the rifle you're interested in and whether they offer either of the calibers.