Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Complete beginner!

Complete beginner!

I am completely new to stalking and the forum and would be grateful for any advice and help that anyone could offer. I have been lucky enough to have been out on a number of stalks with experienced guys in Herefordshire, Hampshire and the Scottish Borders and managed to shoot my first Roe buck in Hampshire. Since then I have had the bug and would really like to get into the sport more. I am currently applying for my FAC and have named a .243 which should hopefully be granted.

I have been shooitng game, pigeons and clays for a number of years but find that the challenge of these is becoming a little less attractive.

I would appreciate any advice on kit such as which optics to buy, recommended rifles, etc. and if anyone knows of any stalking in Shropshire or nearby. Hope to here from you.

Welcome aboard mate.
    there are years and years of knowledge on here.

hi chris and welcome just joined this week myself . i started out with a 243 eight years ago and still shoot one now nice little round have a look at as many as you can and c what feels good to you . price . weight . etc and go from there really . and for the scopes i tend to agree with the old saying go for the best you can afford . i have tried 3 0r 4 makes and have a leupode ? and two swarovski s and i wouldent want anythig else . i do a lot of lamping and you cant shoot what you cant see as for stalking i like to keep it simple 8 x 56 normal cross hair point and shoot 'im sure othr members will also help with advice . al the best pete.

Hello C and welcome. That little question as regard to kit is, or could be, easy to answer. You could say you will need appropriate clothing, knife, rifle, scope, bin's and various bits of ancillary kit. The trick comes into deciding which make, model, calibre etc.