Thread: .375x.284 Winchester Wildcat

.375x.284 Winchester Wildcat

A couple of years ago I started a project to build a rifle chambered in a .375x.284 Winchester. I had paper-whipped the internal ballistics on QuickLoad, and it looked good 'on paper'. I was going to build it on a Mauser 98 action, (actually a Turk '38 Mauser), but I was looking to ultimately put it on a Swiss K-31 action.

I bought a hand-full of Turk '38 receivers a few years ago for $10 each, so this was the action I would start with. Also, I was starting fresh with my relatively new lathe and mill, and if I buggered the action up, it wouldn't be too painful on one of these cheaply acquired actions. I am a self-taught gun-maker, and this was only the third rifle I had made 'from scratch'.

Let me clarify that "gun-maker" term before anyone gets too excited. I did not ever, and do not now, have any intentions or plans to make guns for, or repair the guns of, other people. I am not a gunsmith, and I would not present myself as such. However, I have some hand-skills, and I am tired of "professional" gunsmiths telling me what I want, or telling me "that's not a good idea", or telling me that I have to wait 6 to 18 months for them to get around to the project I 'don't want to do'. The only realistic solution was to do it myself, and I am very pleased with the first few of them I have made.

For those that might not be familiar with the .284 Winchester parent case, it has two "socially redeeming characteristics". First, it has a "magnum" diameter body (nominal 0.501"). That means more case capacity in a "standard length" case. Second, it has a "standard" rim diameter (0.473" nominal). THAT means a "standard" bolt could be used without having to modify the standard Mauser or K-31 bolt face.