Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Caliber Choice

Caliber Choice

I am looking forward to seeing this Forum running and the inforamtion it can provide.

I am new to stalking and trying to decide on a suitable caliber rifle. I already have a .17hmr and a .223. Which I use for rabbits and foxes respectively. I already reload so the cost of ammo is not a big factor. Therefore what are the forums views on the suitability of the .257 Weatherby for stalking - will it do the job, what is the recoil like and can it be carried for a day across country.

I would welcome any view plus recomendations for other calibers.

Many thanks

I guess it depends on what our going to shoot.

Also the .257 whetherby case has a rolled sholder so maybe difficult to resize so you might want to check out how easy they are to reload and how many time you can re-use a case.

As for carrying it for a days cross country skiing well I think your just going to have to try a rifle for weight and might want to consider a stainless rifle.

Weatherby cartridges, especially the greatly overbore rounds like the .257 require at least 26 inch barrels to get any real advantage from the round over more "ordinary" cartridges like the .25-06. I don't believe the inconvenience of the extra rifle length is worth it.

If you like the .25's , then I would recommend the .25-06 or even the .257 Roberts as perfectly suited to most hunting situations in which any .25 is suitable for use. They will also come in much more "portable" rifles.

Will it "do the job"? What job do you have for it to do? With the right bullets, it is indeed a potent round for smaller big game animals.

To give it credit, the .257 Weatherby is likely the most potent .25 you can find. The rifles are pretty, expensive, and reasonably accurate. My only question is, do you really need it?