Solvents for ultrasonic cleaners

rodkayak

Following a recent tip from this forum, I bought a u/sonic cleaner from Lidl's. I have been using vinegar & washing-up liquid. Does anyone else have their favourite concoctions as I am just starting out on my voyage of brass alchemy.

I use fairy liquid and baking soda, the bubbles from the baking soda are meant to assist with cleaning but it may be complete rubbish. The cases look clean though!

From my days in the lab:

Water 99%
Ammonia: 1%
Three drops of washing up liquid

I'd keep away from vinegar as acetic acid residues will remain and start the corrosion process.

Tony

Limulus, From my lab days (Metals Research) I would avoid ammonia. Probably 1% soln. will do no harm but stronger solutions will destroy the bond between the grain boundaries in brass and cause minute cracks. On similar threads I have warned against using Brasso for cleaning cases.

I'm just going on what we used for the females jewellery (apart from a bit of degassing use thats all the ultrsonic bath was used for)
If metallurgy is your area then obviously your advise should be taken

Atb

Tony

I have read that diluted Birchwood Casey case cleaner is very effective used in ultrasonic cleaners, but haven't tried it yet. Iosso works but it is much more expensive than BC. I think people have spent hours trying all sorts of concoctions of vinegar and washing up liquid, etc. but most of the results I have heard about point towards BC as being the most effective.

Last edited: