Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Experience of male GWP dogs

Experience of male GWP dogs

I'm very near to buying my first gwp pup, i am jist looking for a bit of advice from folk who have owned male ones. I have 2 doubts playing on my mind,

The first and major 1 is the reputation they have for being 'thugs'. I first looked at them a few years ago and even a breeder said esp the males can be very dominant bordering aggressive, hard heided/stubborn and sometimes dinae take well to sharing a kennel. I'm a fairly soft trainer and dinae want a dog that will see that as a weakness and jist take the piss. I already have 3 reasonably well behaved dogs (2 labs 1 springer) so it will probably neeed to share a kennel at some point and definately the back off pick up. I jist dinae want a dog thast will wind the rest up which have got a nice temperament at the moment.

I generally dinae believe a lot of breed reputations as so much individuality in breeds, and all the bitches i've seen have been really nice natured and a cracking temperment. However the few dogs i've seen were mainly on the 1 grouse moor and were all pure bestards, even the lab crosses were terrible and would fight with anything, it wasn't unusual to see them fighting between each other if they couldn't pick on another dog inbetween drives. It's really put me off the wires. Althou in there favour the keepers hadn't spent much time with them and were poorly trained; there other dogs were terrible too and would've put u off owning labs or spaniels So possibly shouldn't use them as the breed standard.

My other slight concern is when ur up to 4 dogs starts gettin hard work walking/training them esp when i still live in a town wi neighbours. It all takes a bit more time and a lot more ***** to pick up