.17 HMR vs .22 WMR

Grandhubert

Gentlemen,

I would be grateful if anyone has owned and used both of these calibres for general vermin shooting to let me know how they compare and also where they are in comparison to for example the .22 using stingers and a .22 hornet on the same.

I have some experience with the .22LR with subs and stingers and a bit with the 17 HMR but none with the .22 Wmr and hornet.

TIA,

A

Amir, call me later, I have had a 22wmr for about 20 years.

The 22wmr is a pretty good fox round out to about 120 yards. Drops like a brick after that. I was about to dispose of mine a few years ago. The appearance of Vmax 32 or 33gr rounds gave it a new lease of life. However, it is relatively expensive to feed and has too much grunt for rabbits if you want to eat them.

I really do not rate the 17hmr as a fox rifle, but it is lethal on crows magpies rabbits etc out to about 150 yards, flat shooting and accurate. I actually think the HMR is a great round to use for general practice instead of a CF.

So, the WMR is a good fox rifle in limited circumstances were you cannot use a 22CF, and that is about it.

Realistically, I reckon the WMR is all but obsolete.

Will give you a buzz tomorrow mate.

It is exactly as you say, a situation where a .223 or .22-250 would be inappropriate. Foxes and Canada geese would be the main quarry; those geese seem tougher customers than the foxes by the way!

PS. how much gun is the .22 hornet, so to speak?

The hornet is a lot more gun, it is not a lot behind the 222rem. Can't remember velocity, but the WMR is ballpark 2000fps with the 33gr Vmax. The hornet is more like 3000fps with 40grainers. Gerry is the hornet expert

I would rather have a 222 than all the hornets and WMR's put together. However, if you are stuck in a Rimfire only for foxes, the 22mag is the only option IMO.