Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scope final choices

Scope final choices

Having asked about foxing scopes I have decied to spend a bit more and go for either of the scopes below. Any comments welcome, I will be foxing with .223 out to no more than 200 yards. It will be under the lamp. Do i go for single dot fixed or the variable.
    Also may be used for woodland Munti shooting. found one for 555

found this found this for 600

Many thanks for all your help over the last few days.

I've no knowledge of the Zeiss budget range but plenty of people use them. I think that is too much to pay for a fixed Doctor, not saying that its not worth it but you can pick up 2nd hand Zeiss/Swaro 8x50's realatively easily for a lot less. Personally I would go for a leupold VXIII 4.5-14 with duplex or B&C reticle (can't comment on the value of illumination as I have no experience) Really, anything of quality in the 3-12, 2-10, 4-14 range will do you fine. Stay away from too fine reticles/dots as they are difficult to use in dusky woodland and too heavy reticles as they obscure too much of the target. JC

I have an 8x56 S+B and thats what I would get again and again. Hungarian assembled ones are the same price as the Doctor at Swillingtons. But the Ziess is tempting at that price. For fliting between foxes and deer you may need a variable but I bet over 50% of folk who get variables never vary them.

Did you go to the show at Newark , did you have a look through them? Its the only way to tell I reckon.

i do 50% of my shooting in woodland as so went for some thing with good light gathering, after that I would be looking at field of view.

Reticules are personal thing. Mine is a number 7 and have never complained about it. IMHO
    Last edited by richardM695; 23-03-2011 at 14:09.

Chickenman, if you are going to spend around 600, there are a couple of Docter variables on ebay in that bracket, they might be the best return for your money.