Another first stalk

Hi all, This is my first attempt at writing an article so apologise for the lack of professionalism.
Have a friend who had never stalked in anger ( acompanied me and watched only ) and is keen as mustard . The other day we had been doing some fencing on the shoot and finished earlier than expected, so i asked if he had time for a stalk before getting off home. The reply was a resounding yes , and when i said he would be taking the shot ,should the chance present itself , he beamed and said 'are you sure'.
Now we had previously spent time on the range so i knew he was familiar with the rifle and a very competent shot.
Now the shoot is in a valley and the wind was against us so we drove around to the high side of the valley which would give us the best chance of proceeding undetected.
I explained the plan of attack to Alan and he chambered a round and applied the safety on the scout and shouldered the rifle.
I was pleased to see that Alan had listened to the instructions and we moved as one along the top the wood. The wood comprises of small blocks of mature conifer split up by some dense old coppice. The valley is steep sided with a lot of large rocks which serve as convienient places for Roe to lay up undetected, but the bottom is fairly flat with good visability through the plantation.
We took over an hour to cover 300 yards without seeing or spooking any deer and got to a position where we could sit and watch for a bit.
After about 45 mins without seeing anything we started to stalk back into the wind and took a further 45 mins to cover 150 yds. The sun had been out for about 30 mins and we were approaching an area where i had often seen deer couched in the evening sunshine and today was no different.