.22 hornet

matt .243

hi folks, just bought a ruger 77 .22 hornet, so far really like it. anyone else using a 22 hornet and how do you like it?
any tips for a newbie to this caliber?
matt

CZ 527 Hornet here, love it to bits.
Hornady 35 grain V-max over 11 grains of H110 does the business for me.

Neil. :)

What he said :thumb:

Only difference is I prefer Lilgun.

But the 35grain v-max really are the bees knees.

Regards,

Ads

take it you all home load your ammo then?
was gonna get into this, but not got round to it, any factory ammo you suggest?

You should never shoot factory ammo in a Hornet. Bad for your bank account! I did some testing on Winchester Supreme 34 grain and it shot OK, but nothing like handloads. Start reloading and REALLY enjoy your Hornet.~Muir

Very pleased with my CZ 527, don't think i'll ever part with it, i'm only a beginner but 35 g V-max with 13 g of lilgun works for me !! :D Iv'e heard that the Ruger loves the Hornadys 50 g SPSX, there's a good clip on you tube about it ! "22 Hornet and Fox shoot"

A good friend has two 22 Hornet's and two 222's. All 4 rifles shoot best with RWS Jagdmatch ammo. This for foxes, magpies, crows, ......

I tried Remington 35 grain accu tips when I first got my hornet, pretty good, and if I wasn't going to load for it I would have carried on with them.

Neil.

very underrated caliber, is my most used carry rifle , along with another :) 40gr s/p & 9gr vit 110/120. super accurate 100yds +

thats what i heard very under rated caliber, thought would give it a whirl, thought it be ideal round the farm, close range and got the umph for longer charlie's

virtually every gamekeeper in the country will tell you if they had a choice of one rifle only, it would be the hornet ! Some achievement isn't it !?