Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Binoculars for a new stalker - any help please

Gloucestershire, Forest of Dean
    Blog Entries

Binoculars for a new stalker - any help please

I'm in the market for a new pair of binoculars - most of my stalking will be on Roe or Fallow in or around woodland. As I'm new to stalking I don't want to pay a kings ransom for a pair and I'm looking at Minox or an older pair of Zeiss. Any help would be really appreciated.

Bought myself a pair of Minox 8x42 about 18 months ago use them for roe + fallow.
    Great price for some good quality glass. Minox will not dissapoint.
    All the best Luke

Hi, i am a Minox fan as well ,although i do have a pair of Swarovski 7 x 42 the Minox are my first choice when i go out.

If you are stalking in woodland, and I'm sure you already know this, you will spend a lot of hours in a stalking day using your binos so that is as good a reason as any to go with the best quality you can reasonably afford. I use a pair of Minox HGs myself and at the time I paid 400 for them though I think they are a lot more expensive than that now. I've looked through others costing a lot more cash but I'm not considering changing my Minox and am very happy with them. If you have infinite funds then I would suggest you buy Swaro first time around as you will always feel that you should have a pair and there is no question that they set the standard, especially for customer service. Also don't ignore the possibility of buying second hand, MacLeods of Tain get a very good reputation and often have second hand stock.

You won't go far wrong with Minox, but have a look at older swaro's or some Leica Trinovids which you will pick up for about 400 quid secondhand.