DSC 1

I have recently taken up stalking and received my FAC. As can be seen from a couple of my other posts on here I am a complete beginner to stalking and centrefire rifles although I have been shooting clays, game and vermin for a number of years.

The question I have is this - my FAC has a supervision condition on it which can be discharged by either an experienced rifle shooter writing a letter to the FLO when they feel I am safe to shoot unaccompanied or by taking and passing my DSC 1. Is the DSC a worthwhile investment or I would I be better sticking to accruing experience?

Thought I would test the wealth of knowledge on here before parting with my pennies!

There's nothing that beats experience and actually 'doing it' especially under the guidance of a good mentor. However the DSC 1 is a good course and IMHO it is worth the money :eek: . Not just what you will learn from the actual course but from the other participants as well . May pick up some useful contacts for the future as well.
My advice is pick your course and venue wisely and enjoy :)
Regards FB

Hi Chris,
I think you will enjoy, and learn a lot from the DSC1 sylabus.
I would not do it solely to help remove the mentor restriction on your licence. My issuing authority had no idea what the course involved, despite suggesting it would help get one of the restrictions lifted from my licence previously. When I asked them to give me an open ticket I was told the DSC1 was of no importance, and "is more about recognising the species than safety". Perhaps the licencing authority should study for the DSC1 before getting their jobs!
I now have an open licence, but NOT as a result of passing the DSC1.
Good luck mate, do it for yourself, not for them.
Mark

Chris

I did my DSC1 some years ago at Cirencester through the BDS. I thoroughly enjoyed it, learned a lot and met some great people.