Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Head shot deer ? is it becoming the norm !

Head shot deer ? is it becoming the norm !

In my own opinion i think it is a totally unacceptable shot and in every course and book i have ever read and done that is the same answer across the board on wild deer not park deer ! and i have been stalking for over 20 years .
    However in quite a few publications and programs of late it seems to be ok !
    i give an example ; in the excelent fieldsports britain programe roy lupton shoots a roe buck in the head from a fair distance ,but then tells the viewer why it is not a good idea to take head shots and gives a text book answer to the reasons against it ! even though he just did it quite remarkable .
    in the back of a new publication i got for free modern gamekeeping ,there is an advert by vicars game for head shot deer . fallow ,roe and muntjac at 30p to 50p more a kilo for head shot .
    maybe some stalkers need to see some deer with bottom jaws missing when they think about making an extra 30p a kilo when they take that shot .
    i just seem to think these programmes ,magazines etc should be a good example of best practice in deer stalking or am i being old fashioned in my views on head shooting ?
    someone once said to me can you hit a tennis ball at 100yrds or even 50 yrds every time and every kind of shot every time because that is the size of a brain on some deer it is even smaller ?
    makes you think !
    atb Tom

Side on head shot - no - if you are slightly off then broken jaw etc, but with a facing a bullet just above the nose between the eyes / or in back of head not an issue- if it goes slightly high then takes out top of brain, low then back of the mouth/ top of spinal cord, slightly to one side then still take out the brain. Otherwise a clean miss. Used to stalk on an estate up north where all hinds were head shot to get best quality carcasses as they butchered and sold their own meat.