Thread: Hi from N E Scotland

Hi from N E Scotland

Just joined up as the site looks good, lots of sensible input, its a poor day if you can't learn something new or get a different slant on somethingyou thought you knew about.

I've been shooting for 40 years or so and deer for almost 30.

Roughshooting and wildfowling with 20's 12's and 4's and rimfire .22

Started shooting deer with a .243 and now have a .308 and a 22-250. I reload almost all cartridges. Its not cheaper, you just shoot more and tend to have a greater intrest in what what can be done with a specific rifle /cartridge combination. Mainly Roe with the odd foray to Finland for european elk (moose) with 9.3x62 and capercaillie and blackgame with a

I have started using GS Custom Bullets (South African Company) in the .308 as I wish to avoid eating any more lead. Downside is the price but the upside, apart from lead free meat, is, for me, the increased accuracy. They have a good website with a lot of interesting info and a good piece on terimnal ballastics.

I'm on the lookout for a new dog. Used to work spaniels, now work an aging lab who is on her last legs and probably has two months or so to go. She was trained on game and will track and find deer but will then lose intrest as she can't retrieve it and will start to hunt other game. Intrested in any suggestions anyone will have.

Oxfordshire, Wiltshire, Berkshire....and Sutherland
    View my Gallery (19)View my Gallery (19)

Welcome on board. I've only recently joined but it is a good site and I've certainly learned stuff already.

Re: the dog, check out the "Deer Dogs" section in the Forums. Personally I'd have a GWP, but my wife won't let me get another dog as we already have three - two labs and a cocker. The labs are great all-rounders, the cocker is a great something....I just can't figure out what!

Up in your neck of the woods in a couple of weeks time after the stags and salmon - I can't wait. It's a glorious part of the world.

Hi Bob,