Thread: What? yet another newbie?

What? yet another newbie?

Hi all, I'm kernel gadaffi (the nutter) from County Durham and have just joined, I've been shooting for 40 years having fired my first air rifle aged 7 years old, had a Weihrauch HW35 to start with and then bought "The Beast" an HW80. Obtained my SGC in 1989 and started a clay shooting club with some pals which is still going very strong and got my FAC 7 years ago which consisted of 2X.22rf and mods, after four years I was asked by a few of my permissions to try to use something with less ricochet due to live stock, so I got a variation for a .17HMR and mod so now I have the option and a bit more land to shoot on due to a bit of networking and being known in the area all my life.
    I was lucky two years ago when I was given the chance by a friend of almost 30 years to go stalking in NW Scotland and he persuaded me to apply for a bigger calibre, he suggested a .243 or 6.5 with moderators, my FAC was up for renewal so I applied for both and got them and am the proud owner of a CZ 550 American in .243 with a DM80 mod and an S & B 8X56 German on top which claimed its and my first blood last year, a handsome 6 point red stag.
    I also have as stated .17 and .22, both CZ Americans, the .22 has a PH mod and a Hawke 3-12X50 IR on top zeroed for 80 yards, the .17 has a DM80 mod and is topped with a Simmons WTC 6.5-20X50 zeroed at 36 yards for the optimal allowance of bullet drop at 130 yards, this thing is a tack driver, I also have a Classic Doubles Sporter for clays and the odd bit of game shooting.