Sako extractor conversion on a Rem 700

Milligan

Hi,

Has anyone had their rem 700 extractor converted to the Sako type recently and could you provide a rough idea of cost?

Not looking for a debate on why rem use heat treated paper clips or advice to sell it and buy a Sako. :D

Cheers,

Will

I had Border barrels do mine I think cost was £130 not sure though. Give lee at border a quick line and I am sure he will give you an up to date quote.

Dave

I have no personal experience of this job but I have been told that Niel McKillip of Basingstoke is very good at this.
I have no idea of his price or even if I have spelt his name correctly but I have seen his work on another persons rifle and that person was pleased with the result.

Give Mike Norris a call at Brock & Norris. Some gunsmiths will just cut the extractor in, but Mike will do other bits like check the head spacing and adjust the bolt as necessary, all for the same price as others. Think he currently charges about £120.
Dave at Valkerie Rifles will also do it but charges £175 !!!!

Will,

If Neil McKillop does it then I am sure it will be a cracking job. He has threaded two Sauers for me in the past, including re-fitting the front open sight behind the new thread. He is based about 10 mins from Basinstoke on the Reading road. He posts on the AGBBS under the nick Dasherman.

P.s. you going to the steels with Caterham in July?

Kyle

richard pope can also do things like this. give him a bell he is very very good at what he does. and cost wise is better then most

I have had a Rem done with this conversion - my advice is dont bother.

The standard extractor works very well and if it every fails, its a £10 and thirty second job to replace it.

Even the older rivetted ones take less than five mins to replace...

The rifle I had done, now throws brass onto the side of the windage turret on every extraction -

My job was done by a well respected smith and done correctly.....

Will,