Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My very first stalk

Smile My very first stalk

On Tuesday night at just before 18.00 I arrived at John Robson's house for my 1st stalk. I am a total novice to stalking and was both excited and a bit nervous. When I say nervous, I mean in the way I didnt want to balls up the shot, thats if we were lucky enough to indeed get a shot. John from the off puts you at your ease and his coaching is 'to the point' and easily taken in, and he doesnt mind you asking daft beginner's questions and will explain any and all stalking terms/jargon.

Once on the ground he made me familiar with his rifle and scope and I fired a couple of shots at a deer silhouette put in front of a **** heap. He was happy my with shooting and weapon handling so decided to start the stalking so I closely followed John and his GSP bitch up a ride. As we went John pointed out slots on the ground and said different beast of differrent sizes were moving through the area and pointed out the damage they were doing as we went. After a while we climbed into a high seat but after only a few mins John wasnt happy with the position as the surrounding trees had limited the arcs of fire so we moved and onto the next ride, moving very slowly and stopping to glass every now and then when all of a sudden a young buzzard dropped onto the ground about 30 yards in front of us and just looked at us. The GSP was totally focused on the buzzard and just didnt take her eyes off it. Meanwhile John videoed the whole thing and we just kept moving forward very slowly until when we got very close the bird just turned its back on us and just walked into thicker cover.