Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: wire hair vizlas

wire hair vizlas

i saw one of these beautiful dogs in a gamefair a few years ago & have wanted one ever since! but i've never really had the use for a gundog. but thats all starting to change & will be looking for something early next year...
    just wonderd what their really like to work with & why so many people seem to stick with pointers?

I've not had a vizla but have a GWP pup and a GSPx but none of them are dogs for the faint hearted, they need lots of work

Also probably not the right dog for a first time gundog owner

Soother 223
    I have 2 WHV's a 6 year old dog and a 2 year old bitch, i use both for beating and picking up and they are 'FAB' they tick all the boxes as far as i'm concerned

I'm new to stalking so have not had the chance to work them on deer but they have no problem finding any game shot or not ( the dog has even retrieved a fox a friend of mine shot)

Shame your so far away otherwise we could meet up so you could meet the gang

Both dogs are great house dogs too i work shifts and my missus always feels safe

Dicky Boys is wrong about the WV it is a bigginers dog very easy to train very soft and a loveable family dog that is the main reason i moved on to a differnt breed because it is so hard to find a good working line and the price 800- 900 has got ut of hand.

Last edited by 6pointer; 13-06-2011 at 17:27.
    As I get older I have realised that I cannot please everyone. But I find I can easy piss every one off.

+1 to both replies. Great family dogs. Great workers . Just need plenty of exercise .

Atb Steve