Thread: Thinking About Dsc 1

Thinking About Dsc 1

I keep thinking about doing my dsc1 but not sure what ill get out of it as I studied deer management in college and gained my National diploma in deer management and also taking my large and small game hygiene course a few years back which I also gained.

I suppose my biggest reason for not doing my dsc1 already is I studied deer management for 12 months and really not sure what a 4 day course could add other than a nice new shiny certificate.

I've been stalking now with friends and by myself since I got my first Fac but would like to maybe try new places and new species and seems the dsc1 is the minimum qualification needed so I guess my question is after all this babbling is how dose my current qualifications compare to a dsc1 and is it even recognized by anyone?

And should I blow pounds on the dsc1 if only to be able to try new things.

I was in a similar position before doing mine and thought i would do it before it became manadtory as more police forces seem to recignise it as a qualification ive since done level2 aswell , youll fly through it im sure and whats a few quid spread over the rest of your life

Chris, its been a few years since i did my DSC1 but are you not able to just sign up to do the test day now without the need to attend an organized course ?

You answered your own question in part,
    like to maybe try new places and new species and seems the dsc1 is the minimum qualification needed
    , I would say you should have a quick look through a bit of revision, maybe on the bits you might not remember, & book just the test day, if you are so sure that you have everything stored up top, plus you will very likely meet some new friends / characters too!
    (The Unspeakable In Pursuit Of The Uneatable.) " If I can help, I will help!." Former S.A.C.S. member!

Distinguished Member tartinjock's Avatar
    Nairn, Inverness-shire